Head of Chair


Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Evangelos Tsotsas

Lehrstuhl Thermische Verfahrenstechnik
Institut für Verfahrenstechnik (IVT)
Universitätsplatz 2, 39106 Magdeburg, G10-238   vCard

geboren 1959 in Thessaloniki, Griechenland

University education with degree                  

Mechanical Engineering; Aristotle University Thessaloniki, Degree: Dipl.-Ing.

Research degrees

Dr.-Ing., Process Engineering, University of Karlsruhe, Supervisor: Prof. Dr.-Ing. E.-U. Schlünder

Habilitation to Dr.-Ing. habil., University of Karlsruhe

Professional experience

Full professor and Chair of Thermal Process Engineering, Faculty of Process and Systems Engineering, Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg

Senior Process Specialist in R&D (Solids Processing, Engineering Science Laboratory) of the Dow Deutschland Inc., Stade

Postdoctoral research assistant, Thermal Process Engineering, Univ. Karlsruhe

Research assistant, Thermal Process Engineering, University of Karlsruhe

Research assistant, Applied Thermodynamics, Aristotle University Thessaloniki

Honors and Awards

Professor Arun S. Mujumdar Medal for Outstanding Mentorship and Sustained Excellence in Drying Research
(presented at 21th Intern. Drying Symposium, Valencia, Spain)

Honorary Professor of the University of Chemical Technology and Metallurgy, Sofia, Bulgaria

Award for Excellence in Drying R&D
(presented at 2nd Nordic Baltic Drying Conference, Hamburg, Germany)

Best Research Award
(presented at 20th International Drying Symposium, Gifu, Japan)

Otto von Guericke Research Award, Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg

Award for Excellence in Drying Research
(presented at 17th Intern. Drying Symposium, Magdeburg, Germany)

Award for Innovation in Drying Research
(presented at 13th Intern. Drying Symposium, Beijing, China)

Memberships/Activities in Scientific Organizations

  • Senate and Grants Committee of the DFG for Collaborative Research Centers (2014-2020)
  • Expert Panel of the DFG for Chemical and Thermal Process Engineering (2004-2012)
  • Speaker of the Expert Panels of the DFG for Process Engineering and Technical Chemistry (2008-2012)
  • Vice speaker of DFG Graduate School 1554 (2016-2019)
  • Central Selection Committee of Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (2005-2013)
  • Working Party on Drying Technology, ProcessNet (1998-today, Chairman: 2005-today)
  • Working Party on Heat and Mass Transfer, ProcessNet (1995-today)
  • Working Party on Granular Media and Agglomeration Technology, ProcessNet (2009-today)
  • European Working Party on Drying, EFCE (2003-today, Chairman: 2004-2008)
  • Scientific Council of International Center of Heat and Mass Transfer (2002-today)
  • Section “Product Design and Engineering” of the EFCE (2007-today)
  • Advisory board of VDI/GVC (Process and Chemical Engineering Association, 2005-2018)
  • Chairman of the regional VDI group “Chemical and Process Engineering” (2005-today)
  • Founding Dean, Dean (1998-2002) and Vice-Dean (2013-today) of the Faculty of Process and Systems Engineering, Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg
  • Member of the Academic Senate of the Otto von Guericke University (2002-2013, 2020 - today)
  • Center of Dynamic Systems (CDS), Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg (2016-today)
  • International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) ProEng, Magdeburg (2019-today)

Other activities and services

  • Editorial board of: Drying Technology Journal, Processes, ChemEngineering
  • Editor in Chief of the International Journal of Chemical Engineering
  • Editor of the book series “Modern Drying Technology”, 5 volumes, Wiley-VCH, 2007-2014


Office hours
Nach Vereinbarung...

Last Modification: 28.01.2021 - Contact Person: Webmaster